HOORAY!!!  We did it!  We met our goal of adding 10 new co-sponsors by Valentine's Day.  Thank you Senator Nelson (D-NE) and Senator Webb (D-VA) for joining, Senator Baucus (D-MT), Senator Bennet (D-CO), Senator Conrad (D-ND), Senator Udall (D-NM), and Senator McCaskill (D-MO) Senator Akaka (D-HI),  Senator Lieberman (D-CT), Senator Tester (D-MT) and the 38 other Senators in supporting the Reauthorization of VAWA!

Now, we just need 10 more by March 1st, and 2 more by the Spring Solstice March 20th. That's 12 more total!  We're on our way! 


Senators Leahy (D-VT) and Crapo (R-ID) want to bring the Violence Against Women Act (S. 1925) to the Senate floor for a vote before April 1 in order to avoid the fray of budget/appropriations/campaign politics. Right now, VAWA has 46 sponsors, including 5 Republicans. BUT we’ll need 60 votes to avoid a filibuster and secure a floor vote and passage.  See below on who needs to hear from us. Together we can reauthorize VAWA!


There are 10 Senators who have been VAWA sponsors in the past. Maybe they just need to be reminded and for sure they need to be persuaded. VAWA programs and services are under-funded and under attack.  It’s time to step up for victims of sexual assault and dating, domestic and stalking violence. Please reach out to these Senators and their staff today:   Carper, Thomas (D - DE),  Cochran, Thad  (R - MS), Cornyn, John (R - TX), Grassley, Chuck (R - IA), Hatch, Orrin (R - UT), Hutchison, Kay Bailey (R – TX), Inouye, Daniel (D - HI)  , Nelson, Bill (D - FL), Pryor, Mark (D - AR), Snowe, Olympia (R - ME)

There are 4 new Senators who OUGHT to be sponsors of VAWA. Talk to them and their staff and tell them about how VAWA has helped promote awareness and support services and needs them to be champions – and sponsors!  Please contact them today:    Brown, Sherrod (D - OH), Merkley, Jeff (D - OR), Udall, Mark (D - CO) , Warner, Mark (D - VA) 

There are 9 Senators who have expressed interest in VAWA and have been supportive of program funding and services in the past. Ask them to step up to this crisis. Alexander, Lamar (R – TN),Coburn, Tom (R – OK ), Enzi, Michael (R – WY), Graham, Lindsey (R - SC), Heller, Dean (R – NV), Kyl, Jon - (R - AZ), Lee, Mike (R – UT), Lugar, Richard (R - IN), Manchin, Joe (D - WV) 


Please be sure to thank all the Senators who have signed on to support the Reauthorization of VAWA:  Leahy, Patrick J. (D - VT), Akaka, Daniel K. (D - HI), Baucus, Max  (D - MT), Begich, Mark  (D - AK), Bennet, Michael F. (D - CO), Bingaman, Jeff (D - NM), Blumenthal, Richard (D - CT), Boxer, Barbara (D - CA), Brown, Scott P. (R - MA), Cantwell, Maria (D - WA), Cardin, Benjamin L. (D - MD), Casey, Robert P., Jr. (D - PA), Collins, Susan M. (R - ME), Conrad, Kent  (D - ND), Coons, Christopher A. (D - DE), Crapo, Mike  (R - ID),Durbin, Richard J.  (D - IL), Feinstein, Dianne (D - CA), Franken, Al (D - MN), Gillibrand, Kirsten E. (D - NY), Hagan, Kay R. (D - NC), Harkin, Tom (D - IA), Johnson, Tim (D - SD), Kerry, John F.  (D - MA), Kirk, Mark  (R - IL), Klobuchar, Amy  (D - MN), Kohl, Herb (D - WI), Landrieu, Mary L. (D - LA), Lautenberg, Frank R. (D - NJ), Levin, Carl  (D - MI), Lieberman, Joseph I. (ID - CT), Menendez, Robert (D - NJ), Mikulski, Barbara A. (D - MD), Murkowski, Lisa (R - AK), Murray, Patty  (D - WA), Reed, Jack  (D - RI), Rockefeller, John  - (D - WV), Sanders, Bernard  (I - VT), Schumer, Charles E. (D - NY), Shaheen, Jeanne (D - NH), Stabenow, Debbie (D - MI), Tester, Jon (D - MT), Whitehouse, Sheldon  (D - RI), Wyden, Ron (D - OR)


You can still help even if you don’t live in any of the target states.  Share the site with your friends and family who live in these target states, and ask them to contact their Senators. Thank you. Together we can Reauthorize VAWA!