URGENT – ACTION NEEDED

There has been an important and TIME SENSITIVE development with VAWA.  Today, the House Rules Committee voted on a rule that provides one hour of general debate on S. 47 with 20 minutes of debate on the Republican substitute to the Senate bill. 

If the Republican substitute fails, the House will vote on the full bipartisan Senate bill.  This vote will happen on THURSDAY (2/28) so we only have a few hours to act.

Your Congress Members are listening to you!  In the next two days, Members must hear loud and clear that they need to pass the bipartisan Senate version of VAWA!  Your work has gotten us this far – let’s get this done!

URGENT ACTION ITEM:  Please call the following Congress Members (on the list below) who have expressed a desire to vote for a bill that protects all victims and urge them to vote NO on the partisan substitute bill and then vote YES on the bipartisan Senate version of S.47.  Tell them that they can and must protect ALL victims of violence.   

If your Congress Member is not on the list below, call the Capitol switchboard at (202) 224-3121 and ask the operator to connect you to your Representatives. If you don’t know who your Representatives are, you can look them up herehttp://www.house.gov/representatives/. When you’re connected to their offices, ask to speak to the staff person who handles VAWA. 

These 19 members (in alphabetical order by state) signed the Republican letter to the House leadership See letter and signatories here (Poe and Ros Lehtinen signed after this was posted):

 

Rep. Ros-Lehtinen, Ileana [R-FL] (202) 225-3931

  • Legis. Dir.: Joshua Salpeter joshua.salpeter@mail.house.gov
  • @RosLehtinen
  • Miami Office: 4960 SW 72 Avenue, Suite 208
  • Phone: (305) 668-2285 Fax: (305) 668-5970

 

Rep. Rodney Davis (R-IL 13th District) (202) 225-2371

  • Legis. Dir.: Bobby Frederick robert.frederick@mail.house.gov
  • @Rodneydavis
  • Champaign Office: 2004 Fox Drive
  • Phone: (217) 403-4690 Fax: (217) 403-4691

 

Rep. Lee Terry (R-NE 2nd District) (202) 225-4155

  • Women's Issues LA: Nick Magallanes
  • @LEETERRYNE
  • Omaha Office: 11717 Burt Street, Suite 106
  • Phone: (402) 397-9944

 

Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ 11th District) (202) 225-5034

  • Legis. Dir.: Kathleen Hazlett kathleen.hazlett@mail.house.gov
  • @RodneyforNJ
  • Morristown Office: 30 Schuyler Place, 2nd Floor
  • Phone: (973) 984-0711 Fax: (973) 292-1569

 

Rep. Leonard Lance (R-NJ 7th District) (202) 225-5361

  • Legis. Dir.: Jon Taets jon.taets@mail.house.gov
  • @LeonardLanceNJ7
  • Westfield Office: 425 North Avenue East
  • Phone: (908) 518-7733 Fax: (908) 518-7751 
  • Flemington Office: 361 Route 31, Unit 1401
  • Phone: (908) 788-6900 Fax: (908) 788-2869

 

Rep. Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ 2nd District) (202) 225-6572

  • Legis. Dir.: John Bressler john.bressler@mail.house.gov
  • @RepLoBiondo
  • Mays Landing Office: 5914 Main Street, Suite 103
  • Phone: (609) 625-5008 Fax: (609) 625-5071

 

Rep. Jon Runyan (R-NJ 3rd District) (202) 225-4765

  • Legis. Dir.: Joe Heaton joe.heaton@mail.house.gov
  • @RepJonRunyan
  • Ocean County Office: 600 Mule Road, Unit 6 Toms River
  • Phone: (732) 279-6013  Fax: (732) 279-6062

 

Rep. Chris Gibson (R-NY 19th District) (202) 225-5614

  • Legis. Dir.: Brad Gentile brad.gentile@mail.house.gov
  • @RepChrisGibson
  • Glens Falls Office: 136 Glen St. Glens Fall, NY 12801
  • Phone: (518) 743-0964 Fax: (518) 743-1391

 

Rep. Michael Grimm (R-NY 11th District) (202) 225-3371

  • Legis. Dir.: Aaron Ringel aaron.ringel@mail.house.gov
  • @repmichaelgrimm
  • Staten Island Office: 265 New Dorp Lane, 2nd Floor
  • Phone: (718) 351-1062 Fax: (718) 980-0768 
  • Brooklyn Office: 7308 13th Avenue
  • Phone: (718) 630-5277 Fax: (718) 630-5388

 

Rep. Richard Hanna (R-NY 22nd District) (202) 225-3665

  • Dep. Chief of Staff: Adam Hepburn  adam.hepburn@mail.house.gov
  • @RepRichardHanna
  • Utica Office: 258 Genesee St. Utica, NY 13502
  • P: 315-724-9740 F: 315-724-9746

 

Rep. Tom Reed (R-NY 23rd District) (202) 225-3161

  • Legis. Dir.: Steve Pfrang steve.pfrang@mail.house.gov
  • @RepTomReed
  • Geneva Office:433 Exchange St Geneva, NY 14456
  • Phone: 315-759-5229 Fax: 315-325-4045

 

Rep. David Joyce (R-OH 14th District) (202) 225-5731

  • Legis. Dir.: John Miceli john.miceli@mail.house.gov
  •  @DaveJoyceOH14
  • Painesville Office: 1 Victoria Place, Room 320
  • Phone: (440) 352-3939
  • Twinsburg Office: 10075 Ravenna Road
  • Phone: (330) 425-9291 Fax: (330) 425-7071

 

Rep. Charlie Dent (R-PA 15th District) (202) 225-6411

  •  Legis. Dir.: Kristin Dini kristin.dini@mail.house.gov
  • @DentPressShop
  • Allentown Office: 3900 Hamilton Boulevard, Suite 207
  • Phone: (610) 770-3490

 

Rep. Michael Fitzpatrick (R-PA 8th District) (202) 225-4276

  • Legis. Dir.: Kyle Whatley kyle.whatley@mail.house.gov
  • @RepFitzpatrick
  • Langhorne Office: 1717 Langhorne Newtown Rd. Suite 400
  • Phone: (215) 579-8102 Fax: (215) 579-8109

 

Rep. Jim Gerlach (R-PA 6th District) (202) 225-4315

  • Legis. Dir.: Lauryn Schothorst lauryn.schothorst@mail.house.gov
  • @JimGerlach
  • Exton Office: 111 East Uwchlan Avenue
  • Phone: (610) 594-1415 Fax: (610) 594-1419 
  • Wyomissing Office: 840 North Park Road
  • Phone: (610) 376-7630 Fax: (610) 376-7633 
  • Trappe Office: 580 Main Street, Suite 4
  • Phone: (610) 409-2780 Fax: (610) 409-7988

 

Rep. Patrick Meehan (R-PA 7th District) (202) 225-2011

  • Acting Legis. Dir: Brian Schubert brian.schubert@mail.house.gov
  • @RepMeehan
  • Springfield Office:940 West Sproul Road
  • Phone: (610) 690-7323 Fax: (610) 690-7329

 

Rep. Ted Poe (R-TX 2nd District) (202) 225-6565

  • Leg Dir lindsay.pitts@mail.house.gov
  • Women's Issues LA: Blair Bjellos
  • @JudgeTedPoe
  • Harris County East Office:1801 Kingwood Drive, Kingwood, TX 77339
  • Phone: (281) 446-02 Toll Free: (877) 446-0242

 

Rep. Dave Reichert (R-WA 8th District) (202) 225-7761

  • Legis. Dir.: Zachary Rudisill zachary.rudisill@mail.house.gov
  • @davereichert
  • Issaquah Office: 22605 SE 56th Street Suite 130
  • Phone: (425) 677-7414 or (877) 920-9208 Fax: (425) 270-3589

 

Rep. Shelley Capito (R-WV 2nd District) (202) 225-2711

  • Legis. Dir.: Adam Tomlinson adam.tomlinson@mail.house.gov
  • @RepShelley
  • Charleston Office:4815 MacCorkle Avenue, SE
  • Phone: (304) 925-5964 Fax: (304) 926-8912 
  • Martinsburg Office: 300 Foxcroft Avenue, Suite 102
  • Phone: (304) 264-8810 Fax: (304) 264-8815

 

###

 

  • For more information, fact sheets, press coverage, support letters and updates continue to visit  4vawa.org.
  • Follow us on Twitter at @NTFVAWA and “like” our Facebook page. Don’t forget to tweet about VAWA using the hashtags #ReauthorizeVAWA, #RealVAWA and #VAWA. 
  • If you aren't on one of the VAWA email lists or want to add members of your staff or state/community leaders to our grassroots alerts e-mailing list, send names and contact information including email to ntfvawaalerts@icasa.org